View Single Post
  #43 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 25, 2017, 12:59am
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy View Post
It looks like you are referring to Case Book play 9.1.3 SITUATION I:

The official administering a free throw awarded to A1 places the ball at his/her disposal. A1, who is inside the free-throw semicircle leaves the semicircle to confer with a teammate.

RULING: Violation. After the ball has been placed at the disposal of the free thrower, he/she is not permitted to leave or enter the free-throw semicircle without violating, until restrictions have ended. (9-1-3e PENALTY 1)


Nothing about Shooter A1 entering the Free throw area after the ball is at his/Her disposal. Go to 10.4.5c
Quote:
Originally Posted by SC Official View Post
Huh?
That is correct and can occur after a timeout if a team delays returning to the floor. You put the ball down on the FT line (never done it) and start the 10 count. The only way for the shooting team to avoid a violation on the FT is to call another timeout.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Wed Oct 25, 2017 at 01:03am.
Reply With Quote