NFL Rules Question About PAT.
The NFL changed its PAT rule starting last year.
When a team scores a TD it must inform the R as to whether it will attempt a 1-point PAT or a 2-point PAT which determines on which yard line the ball is placed for the PAT. I have two scenarios:
Play 1 (1-point PAT): The team lines up for the place kick. The snap goes over the Kicker's head. The Kicker recovers the ball and either (a) completes a pass to a legal receiver in the endzone, or (b) runs the ball into the endzone. What is the correct ruling?
Play 2 (2-point PAT): The QB lines up in the shotgun formation. The snap goes over the QB's head. The QB recovers the ball and sees that he has no open receivers and has defenders bearing down on him. He proceeds to dropkick the ball through the uprights. What is the correct ruling?
Thanks from a former futbol official, LOL!
MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
|