It's not a balk if a pitcher steps back off the rubber, legally, and doesn't seperate his hands. The rule is there so he won't jump back on the rubber and throw a quick pitch.
Even if he does step back on the rubber with his hands together it is still not a balk, it is a don't do that.
It appears this right handed pitcher stepped back with his left (FREE) foot. In and of itself, there is nothing wrong with that as the pitcher in a windup motion is allowed to take 2 steps with his free foot before he releases the ball, one back which he did and one forward.
What he did after the legal step back seems to be the problem. G.
|