View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 29, 2003, 09:34am
Rich's Avatar
Rich Rich is offline
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Yes. It's a free kick. They can use a tee if they place kick, just like any other place kick under NFHS rules.

Now, this reminded me of a story I heard last week.

A shortage of football officials and the lack of any centralized assigning group means that where I live there is nothing to stop a rookie official from starting his own crew of rookie officials and then marketing that crew for Friday night games. For the most part that doesn't happen.

However, one such crew worked a varsity game a few seasons ago (I heard this third-hand, so I can't verify this, but I could picture it happening) and after a safety told the team about to free kick that they (1) couldn't use a tee and (2) couldn't punt. The referee told the coach that after a safety the kicking team had to lay the ball on the ground and kick it that way. I don't know if a holder was involved.

Like I said, it's a good story, even if it isn't true.

Rich

[Edited by Rich Fronheiser on Aug 29th, 2003 at 09:50 AM]
Reply With Quote