View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 28, 2017, 09:23pm
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Originally Posted by VA Official View Post
Teams only have options if the clock would start on the ready and there's an accepted penalty inside of 2 minutes of either half. The offended team can then choose to start the clock on the snap. It only works one way. A team can't choose to go from the snap to the ready.

The only time the clock can go from on the snap to the ready is if the referee judges a team is illegally conserving time, such as an illegal forward pass/intentional grounding.
100% correct.

There's a lot of misconception about this rule. But the only option is to have the clock start on the snap that would normally start on the RFP.
" cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote