Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
Which is precisely the argument that Nevadaref makes, and it's a pretty good argument.
It's too bad that the NFHS forces us to use words like "one" (meaning an individual official), and "might", and "infer", for something that can, if they wanted to, be made perfectly clear in Rule 4, Rule 10, or in a casebook play.
|
Agree.
Quote:
I need a reference to the opposite, a live ball that becomes dead.
|
Agree.
Quote:
Are we really going to sound our whistle to stop play, count the team members on the court at the time, meet with our partner to discuss, and inform the coach that we can't charge a technical foul because the ball is dead, and then politely ask the opposing coach to please remove one of his extra players without penalty? Are we all really going to do that?
|
Sure, if it actually happened. It is the fault, most likely, of the crew. If the crew did not count correctly then it is time to admit it. Sure, it will be a bad situation but it also enforces how important it is to count before putting the ball in play.
Quote:
Continuing under these game circumstances, what it the team that has the endline throwin delays the throwin because there are six defenders (brought to their attention by their yelling coach) and nobody picks up the basketball (while the ball is technically at their disposal) for a throwin? Are we going to penalize that team with a five second throwin violation? Are we? Really? Are we about to discover just how ballistic a coach can go before he's escorted out of the gymnasium by a police officer?
|
I do not like "What if" situations as they can become slippery slope material. Anyway...
You are suggesting that the ball is scored and no one (coach) previously mentioned/saw the 6 players. You are suggesting that, before the ball becomes live the coach begins yelling and that his players stop playing because of it. I do not believe that situation to be physically possible given that short amount of time. Let's use 1 second as the timeframe for a ball to be at the disposal for an inbounding team. I do not feel that the coach could yell about the 6 players and that the inbounder would process his yelling and stop play. Kids/people are not that alert. They would not even
hear the coach until several yells had been belched, lol. Anyway.... Seems as if you answered your own situation. If ball was at disposal, consider it a live ball situation and call the T against the offending team.
Also, inquire with table to see if 6 were on court during last live ball situation. Wouldn't that be considered "while being violated"? Wouldn't common sense also allow for application of lag time? Say, official sees 6 players as shot is in air. Ball goes through net and ball is dead but official is blowing his whistle now. If it is that close then why not just apply lag time to adjudication/explanation? Who wouldn't buy that?
Yes, there is a technical issue to discuss with all this but it seems like a moot point.
It is a good line. I was giving you props for using it.