View Single Post
  #41 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 28, 2003, 12:01pm
Bob M. Bob M. is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
REPLY: The bottom line, and the root cause of all the confusion is that the Federation itself has 'published' via its rule book, case book, web site, and their Interpreters' Meeting various conflicting interpretations on a number of PSK situations. This situation (K and R fouls prior to the end of the kick) is a good example. Any of us could pick their "favorite" interpretation and defend it to the death. The problem is exacerbated by some folks' knowledge of the NCAA rule that Tom pointed out above. However, according to Steve Hall who attended the Federation Interpreters' Meeting in Indianapolis last month, the Fed Rules Editors--including Diehl--went on record saying that Rule 10-2-2 has not changed from last year, i.e. if both teams foul prior to a change of possession, it's a double foul--no need to consult either captain. The fact that one of those fouls may have been subject to PSK is interesting but completely immaterial to the enforcement. They know that this is different from the NCAA rule but the decision to leave 10-2-2 as is was a conscious one.

One other observation...the Rules CD that JRut mentions, I don't believe that it is a Federation publication, or is it?? If not, it cannot be viewed as anything more than someone's opinion of how the worl operates. If it is a Federation publication, then it's just another conflicting source of confusion.

Finally, do what your state interpreter tells you to.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote