View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 21, 2017, 11:17am
Manny A Manny A is offline
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,373
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
You do just what the rule allows, you hit the batter with a strike. AGAIN, it has nothing to do with 10 seconds
Okay, there's some misconception out there that the one-foot-in-the-box rule is unnecessary because batters have 10 seconds between pitches to be ready, so why make it a big deal to force batters to keep one foot in? As long as they have those 10 seconds between pitches, who cares where they go as long as they're back and ready by the end of the countdown?
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote