View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 09, 2017, 11:09am
deecee deecee is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freddy View Post
Situation: A1 releases an endline throw-in pass to A2 who is standing out of bounds off the sideline.
Ruling: Out of Bounds violation or Throw-In Violation?
Result: Throw-in at spot of violation, whichever it is determined to be.

Did some study on it and found this previously published 2007/08 Interpretation:
SITUATION 3: During an alternating-possession throw-in for Team A, thrower A1 passes the ball directly on the court where it contacts (a) A2 or (b) B2, while he/she is standing on a boundary line. RULING: Out-of-bounds violation on (a) A2; (b) B2. The player was touched by the ball while out of bounds, thereby ending the throw-in. The alternating-possession arrow is reversed and pointed toward Team B's basket when the throw-in ends (when A2/B2 is touched by the ball). A throw-in is awarded at a spot nearest the out-of-bounds violation for (a) Team B; (b) Team A. (4-42-5; 6-4-4; 9-2-2; 9-3-2)

Has anything changed since then with the relevant rules since that time to reverse that interpretation from making the above situation an OOB violation and not a Throw-In violation?
Why would this be a throw-in violation?
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote