Quote:
Originally posted by Theisey
Quote:
Originally posted by STEVED21
I agree.
As I said before, I didn't want to debate the merits of the interpretation. I just wanted to find out what the rest of the country was being told how to handle it.
Thanks for your input!
|
### No need to worry about the rest of the world, just what (our NY state interpretor has passed down to us. Double/offsetting fouls is a replay. end of story.
|
I have to agree with Theisey.
No need to worry about the rest of the world. Here in Oregon our Rules Interpretor has made it clear!
(but only for the state of Oregon.)
Play 13:
4th and 20 from the K-20. R10 catches the ball at the 50 and returns it for an apparent TD. While K's punt is in flight R15 holds K2 at the K-40. K5 is guilty of a 5 yard facemask; A) at the LOS prior to the ball crossing the ENZ, or B) at the K35 while the ball is in flight, or C) at the K35 after R10 has caught the ball and begun his advance.
Ruling: In A, B, or C the captain of R may decline K's foul and retain the football after PSK enforcement (1st and 10 for R at the R40)
or,
R may accept the K foul thus "creating" a double foul, in which case you would replay the down.
Comments:
R has met the requirments of "Clean Hands" (as described on page 73 or the 2003 NFHS Rule book) when the kicked ball crosses the ENZ prior to any R foul.
"Team possession" is not a factor since post-scrimmage kick applies as described on page 66 (I.3.) of the 2003 NFHS Rule Book.
This is not a "loose ball play" or a "running play" (as per 2003 NFHS Rule Book 2-31-1a, 2-31-2, 10-3-1a, 10-3-2) rather this is a PSK play with "special enforcement!"
And,
In your 2003 NFHS rule book you write the words ..."unless post-scrimmage kick applies." to the end of Rule 10-2-1b.
Ronnie Matthews, (whose name appears on page 1 and his picture appears on page 3 of your NFHS Rule Book) says this; "While the wording around the new PSK rule may be confusing and can be interpreted in different ways, you are instructed to follow the direction of your state rules interpretor. Hopefully the rules committee can "clean up" the rule books prior to the 2004 season."
Bottom Line: Listen to Ronnie Matthew's advice!
But thats only what we are doing in Oregon (aka God's Country)
PS: Since Theisey won't be calling any games in Oregon, and I won't be calling any games in New York,
we are "both technically correct!"
-Nuff said
[Edited by KWH on Aug 28th, 2003 at 01:46 PM]