View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 08, 2017, 08:02pm
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reffing Rev. View Post
R1 is on 2nd, R2 is on 1st. 1 out.
Batter hits a routine fly ball to f6. There is contact between f6 and r1. Both recovered before the ball reached the apex and then f6 dropped the ball. When action stops the bases are loaded. THEN PU announces "dead ball, batter is out infield fly" and returns both runners to TOP with 2 outs.

I believe inning should be over. R1 out for INT and BR out for IFF

If there is no interference, the advance is legal correct?

What say yall?
Devil's Advocate:

What came first, the INT or the IF? Remember, if INT, the ball is dead and any subsequent anything never happened. IOW, did the INT and dead ball occur prior to the umpire being able to determine it was an IF?
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote