Thread: Collision at 1B
View Single Post
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 26, 2017, 04:56pm
Manny A Manny A is offline
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
There is no attempt at a tag, and there is no indication of malicious intent on the part of the BR.
.
.
.
I asked if he considered crash interference. He did not.
Crash interference happens when the runner collides with the fielder who has the ball and is waiting to apply a tag. You said there was no attempt at a tag, so you really cannot consider this as a crash under USA rules.

As you described it, I don't have anything here. The runner is entitled to the base, and as long as she doesn't do anything malicious, she can go in upright unless the fielder is standing there waiting to tag her.

But I do have to question when the contact took place, where was the fielder's glove with the ball in it? Is it entirely possible that the BR ran into the glove when she collided with F3? It's entirely possible that you had an inadvertent tag (but a tag nonetheless) if F3 was facing the BR while looking back to find the white bag. I guess it's a HTBT in that case.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote