Quote:
Originally Posted by MT 73
Suppose the runner does nothing wrong but, while running to 3rd and in front of F6 causes him to hold up for a split second and then misses a lazy line drive?
I had this happen once and all heck broke loose.
|
That is a better description of what happen, after looking up rules this is what I found. First Paragraph on Page 63 of 2017 MLB rules. "Rule 6.01(a) Penalty for Interference Comment (Rule 7.08(b)Comment). A runner who is adjudged to have hindered a fielder who is attempting to make a play on a batter ball is out whether it was intentional or not."
To simplify my question, does physical contact have to be made to have interference called?