View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 28, 2017, 12:29pm
Crogan Crogan is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1
Dropped 3rd Strike, can R1 advance to 3rd?

NFHS Rules. Runner on 1st, 1 out. Dropped 3rd strike on the batter. (He's out and cannot be safe at 1st) R1 takes off from 1st because the ball got by the catcher. B/R runs to 1st because everyone is yelling "RUN". The catcher gathers the ball and throws to 1st to get the B/R, on the throw R1 goes to 3rd.

To clean this up, the umpires call the B/R out and allow R1 to remain at 3rd.

Can R1 stay at 3rd or should he be returned to 2nd because the B/R caused a throw to first after already being out?
Reply With Quote