View Single Post
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 26, 2003, 07:07pm
PSU213 PSU213 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 522
Quote:
Originally posted by JRutledge
If K has punted, and R is returning the kicked ball, according the the NF, they got the ball with clean hands. That is the logic behind PSK in the first place. This is in the the NF Rules CD and in some of the writings about the new rule.
If R is returning the ball when the foul occurs PSK cannot apply, as R is now is possession of the ball. 10-4-3d: "Basic spot is the spot where the kick ends when R fouls occur before the end of the kick ." (My emphasis). If R is returning the kick, the kick has ended, and any foul is enforced as if this were a running play. The whole reason the original play results in a double foul is that R has NOT yet gained possession when they foul. That makes all the difference.

Also, this is Situation 13 from the Fed. website:

SITUATION 13: With fourth and five from K’s 20-yard line, K is in an illegal formation at the snap. While K1’s punt is in flight, beyond the expanded neutral zone, R2 blocks K8 in the back at the 50-yard line. R4 catches the kick at R’s 36-yard line and returns it for a touchdown. RULING: This is a double foul. The penalties offset and the down shall be replayed. (2-16-2b; 10-2-1b)

Note that no options are given that allows R to keep the ball. 10-2-1b requires this to be a double foul.
__________________
If the play is designed to fool someone, make sure you aren't the fool.
Reply With Quote