Quote:
Originally posted by JRutledge
I am looking at 10.2.1. Situation C. There are two fouls on K, one at the snap and one by R (unsportsmanlike) during the play. They say if R accepts either penalty by K, you have a double foul. Then they go on to says that R may decline the penalty and keep the ball if this is done.
Now I agree that the basics are not changed, but PSK designed to not give K a cheap penalty and also establishes that K wanted to "give up the ball" on the play. If that is the intent of their rule, why could R not just decline a penalty and maintain the ball? They still have to take the penalty if K accepts it. I am still not seeing anyone show me the actual rule or casebook play that says this is automatically a double foul, no matter what.
Peace
|
In 10.2.1 Situation C R's foul occurs after the kick has ended, so R in that case does have the option to keep the ball if they decline both of K's penalties (10-2-2). In addition, since the kick has ended before R fouls, PSK would not apply here anyway.
For fouls by R and K before the kick ends it is important to note that PSK only adds a new enforcement spot, it does not mean R is in possession after the ball crossed the NZ. A loose ball is possession of the team whose player last possessed the ball (2-32-2); in other words R is not in possession until they catch or recover the kick. Also, 10-2-1b states it is a double foul if both teams foul and the team in final possession fouls prior to the final change of possession. That rule does not say it is a double foul only if the team in final possession does not decline their opponent's foul--there is no wiggle room here, this situation is ALWAYS a double foul, replay the down.
I agree that based on the intent of PSK, R should be able to decline K's foul and keep the ball, but based on the rules, the down must be replayed in this situation.