Quote:
	
	
		| 
					Originally Posted by MT 73  Varsity softball. USA rule set I am the BU.
 Batter strikes out with one out and runner on first .
 Catcher drops the ball and batter takes off for 1B
 Now we have runners at first and second when the PU informs the B/R that she is out on the strikeout.
 | 
	
 How did he do that?  Was play suspended?
	Quote:
	
	
		| As I move towards the C position I see that R2 is walking back to first base since she thought that her advance was not legal. | 
	
 Was the ball in the circle?
	Quote:
	
	
		| "No, no", I tell her,"Go back to second, you can stay there"
 Which she does.
 I immediately realize my error and, between innings I confer with my partner who had wanted to call her out for running the bases in reverse.
 | 
	
 Now, that would have been dumb
	Quote:
	
	
		| I tell him I do not think you can do that but maybe she could have be called out for being off the base when the pitcher has the ball in the circle. Anyway, suppose I had just kept quiet and allowed her to return to 1B?
 | 
	
  
Depends on the answers above
	Quote:
	
	
		| Suppose the ball was dead and she attempted to return? Should I have stoppped her?
 | 
	
 If play was suspended, yes.
	Quote:
	
	
		| Did she violate any rules? | 
	
 Depends on the answers above