Thread: Designated spot
View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 22, 2003, 04:45pm
Hawks Coach Hawks Coach is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 2,217
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by Hawks Coach


SOME refs are of the philosophy that they point to the center of a sacrosanct 36 inch area. If the player doesn't find that center point, then the player may be located at one edge or another with respect to the "designated spot."
These refs are wrong.

NCAA 4-15-1

A desginated spot is a location at which the thrower-in is presented disposal of the ball out of bounds....

It doesn't say "a location that the referee who has too much time on his hands points to".
Actuall, these refs are probably using NF rules (granted, inital question was NCAA):

NF Rule 4
SECTION 41 THROW-IN, THROWER, DESIGNATED SPOT
ART. 6 . . . The designated throw-in spot is 3 feet wide with no depth limitation and is established by the official prior to putting the ball at the thrower' s disposal.

This rule indicates that the ref establishes a fixed spot, and where the inbounder is when he receives the ball may or may not be on this spot. I like NCAA better, and most refs call this way in NF as well. But the rule is not exactly the same.
Reply With Quote