Quote:
Originally posted by nvfoa15
The posted play is exactly as written in the case book: 9.6.1 SITUATION D. The NF's ruling is (for (a))is a legal catch and A1 is guilty of IP. Rule references are 2-4-1, 2-28, 4-3.
Rule 2-4-1 deals with what is a catch - no argument there. Rule 2-28 has to do with players, etc out of bounds: "A player ... is out of bounds when nay part of the person is touching anything, ... who is on or outside he sideline or endline." Thus A1 is out of bounds when he contacts the ground beyond the sideline. Rule 2-28-3 says: "A loose ball is out of bounds when it touches anything, including a player or game official, who is out of bounds."
Therefore, IMHO, in play (a) this can't be a legal catch. A1 is out of bounds when he touched the ground (twice) betond the sideline. When the ball is touched (or touches) by him it is also out of bounds. The fact that A1 is airborne at the time that he touches the ball is immaterial - he has established himself out of bounds!
A2 does not catch the ball (play over on A1's touch/bat) and no IP either.
|
Here is 2-28-1: "A player or other person is out of bounds when any part of the person is TOUCHING anything, other than another player or game official, who is on or outside the sideline or endline."
The key word here is touching. If the player has jumped in the air he is not touching anything OOB, therefore he is not OOB. In NF rules there is no "establishing" or "re-establishing" one's self in or out of bounds. If the player's foot is on the line, he is OOB; if he jumps in the air, he no longer OOB as soon as his foot is no longer touching the line, whether or not stepped on the ground in-bounds first