View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 22, 2003, 12:16pm
nvfoa15 nvfoa15 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 121
OK! Let me run to my car and get my rule books...

The posted play is exactly as written in the case book: 9.6.1 SITUATION D. The NF's ruling is (for (a))is a legal catch and A1 is guilty of IP. Rule references are 2-4-1, 2-28, 4-3.

Rule 2-4-1 deals with what is a catch - no argument there. Rule 2-28 has to do with players, etc out of bounds: "A player ... is out of bounds when any part of the person is touching anything, ... who is on or outside the sideline or endline." Thus A1 is out of bounds when he contacts the ground beyond the sideline. Rule 2-28-3 says: "A loose ball is out of bounds when it touches anything, including a player or game official, who is out of bounds."

Therefore, IMHO, in play (a) this can't be a legal catch. A1 is out of bounds when he touched the ground (twice) beyond the sideline. When the ball is touched (or touches) by him it is also out of bounds. The fact that A1 is airborne at the time that he touches the ball is immaterial - he has established himself out of bounds!
A2 does not catch the ball (play over on A1's touch/bat) and no IP either.

[Edited by nvfoa15 on Aug 22nd, 2003 at 12:19 PM]
__________________
Dave
Reply With Quote