With respect to using 10.1.9, that is a case where the Coach is holding the team causing a delay of game situation. Another rule to consider is SECTION 5 RESUMPTION-OF-PLAY PROCEDURE, THROW-INS
ART. 1 . . . When a team does not make a thrower available, after a time-out (as in 7-4-4) or the
intermission between any quarter (as in 6-2-3), the resumption-of-play procedure is used to
prevent delay. The administering official will sound the whistle to indicate play will resume. In
each situation:
a. The ball shall be put in play if Team A is ready or it shall be placed on the floor.
b. The throw-in count shall begin and if a violation occurs, the procedure will be repeated
for Team B.
c. Following a violation by one team only, if that team continues to delay when authorized to
make a throw-in, it is a technical foul.
d. Following a violation by both teams, any further delay by either team is a technical foul.
Effectively this negates how 10.1.9 is to be administered.
IMHO, the delay return of a player (who is not deceiving) is a human mistake that shouldn't be penalized. Think about it, Coach has sent A6 to report to sub for A1 and then calls a TO. During the TO, Coach tells A6 not to go in but A1 didn't understand that they were to return. Why is a T needed for no advantage gained especially if Rule 7.5 lets us play without 5 players and it is not a T.
Last edited by FeetBallRef; Fri Mar 10, 2017 at 08:26pm.
|