View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 20, 2017, 11:52pm
AtlUmpSteve AtlUmpSteve is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,815
Quote:
Originally Posted by derwil View Post
NCAA: the act of pitching/catching IS considered a play. 8.3.2 note page 80.
While true, and while we can prefer one rule-set's interpretation over another, this thread's title makes that immaterial to the ruling. ASA/USA Softball interpretations, especially when spelled out as clearly as in this case, simply have no obligation to match what NCAA interprets.

I can give you examples of NCAA rulings that simply don't even have support with their own rules, if that helps.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote