View Single Post
  #41 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 13, 2017, 04:46pm
BigCat BigCat is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by frezer11 View Post
I agree IF the shot has clearly fallen short. In the video from the OP, the shot/pass has not had the opportunity to make it to ring level, much less fall below it. If I encounter this case, I'm counting 3. If I have to judge whether it is a shot or pass? Well much like the burden of proof lies with the prosecution, I think I'm going with a shot until proven a pass.
This op play was clearly a pass and had no chance to go in until the deflection. If any thrown ball counts 3 if thrown from outside arc then we wouldn't have a need for the rule 4 play. A try is a thrown ball. We'd Use rule 5 play and nothing else matters. Because we DO have the rule 4 play, below ring level phrase, we know rule 5 play can't really mean ANY thrown ball touched by D is 3 points. What does it mean?

I had a wing to wing pass deflected by a 6'7" defender at FT line. It went straight back and in. If I only considered rule 5 play it should been 3. Because rule 4 play I counted 2. If a pass has ANY ANY remote chance of going in and it's tipped by defender I'll count 3. If it has no chance without the deflection I'll count 2. I think we need to consider the plays together and figure out a meaning instead of just looking at each one individually.