The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 18, 2012, 10:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lincoln, CA (Near Sacramento)
Posts: 76
Red face Catcher throws ball & hits bat of batter walking off after strikeout.

ASA! Runner on 1st, no outs. Batter strikes out and leaves box walking toward 1st base dugout. Catcher stands and throws ball back to pitcher striking the bat being held on shoulder of batter walking off.

I call dead ball out of instinct. Runner that was on 1st breaks for 2nd after seeing ball on the ground rolling about. I put runner back to 1st. Coach asks why and I tell him I called "dead ball". He's ok and we play on.

Afterward I'm thinking, I probably should not have called "dead ball" since defense is the one that screwed up the throw and allowed a situation where a runner could advance on the errant throw had it not been for my "dead ball" call.

Should I have kept my mouth shut?
__________________
They argue with the umpire because there is nothing else they can do about it.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 18, 2012, 10:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 670
Forget the rule citation at the moment, would have to find it. Also dont remember if its an actual rule or in the rules supplement.

If no play is being made and the batter inadvertantly interferes with the throw back to the pitcher, it is a dead ball.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 18, 2012, 11:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 12,893
Quote:
Originally Posted by Linknblue View Post
ASA! Runner on 1st, no outs. Batter strikes out and leaves box walking toward 1st base dugout. Catcher stands and throws ball back to pitcher striking the bat being held on shoulder of batter walking off.

I call dead ball out of instinct. Runner that was on 1st breaks for 2nd after seeing ball on the ground rolling about. I put runner back to 1st. Coach asks why and I tell him I called "dead ball". He's ok and we play on.

Afterward I'm thinking, I probably should not have called "dead ball" since defense is the one that screwed up the throw and allowed a situation where a runner could advance on the errant throw had it not been for my "dead ball" call.

Should I have kept my mouth shut?
I believe you got it right the first time.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 18, 2012, 01:04pm
Moderator M-800
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 6,871
Quote:
Originally Posted by Linknblue View Post
ASA! Runner on 1st, no outs. Batter strikes out and leaves box walking toward 1st base dugout. Catcher stands and throws ball back to pitcher striking the bat being held on shoulder of batter walking off.

I call dead ball out of instinct. Runner that was on 1st breaks for 2nd after seeing ball on the ground rolling about. I put runner back to 1st. Coach asks why and I tell him I called "dead ball". He's ok and we play on.

Afterward I'm thinking, I probably should not have called "dead ball" since defense is the one that screwed up the throw and allowed a situation where a runner could advance on the errant throw had it not been for my "dead ball" call.

Should I have kept my mouth shut?
Kill it. (But next time, know WHY you're killing it. )
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 18, 2012, 01:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp View Post
Forget the rule citation at the moment, would have to find it. Also dont remember if its an actual rule or in the rules supplement.

If no play is being made and the batter inadvertantly interferes with the throw back to the pitcher, it is a dead ball.
Page 82, Rule 7-6P-S Exception.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 18, 2012, 08:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 5,854
Send a message via AIM to Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Send a message via MSN to Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Send a message via Yahoo to Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Devil's Advocate

I am going to assume that the Batter that struck out was a RH Batter.

The Batter strikes out and does what she is supposed to do: Go directly to her dugout, and that is what she did.

In the OP the Batter did not "hind[er] the catcher from catching or throwing the ball by stepping out of the batter's box," per ASA R7-S6P.

Nor does the EXCEPTION at the end of ASA R7-S6 apply, because it says: "If no play is being made and the batter accidentally makes coctact with catcher's throw to the pitcher, the ball is dead and any advancement of runner(s) shall be notified."

In both cases the Batter was doing what she was supposed to be doing and the catcher did not do what she was supposed to do, and that is to throw the ball ball to the pitcher. The batter did not accidentally make contact with catcher's return throw to the pitcher nor did the batter hinder the catcher from making a throw. The catcher made a bad throw and should not be rewarded from making a bad throw.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 18, 2012, 09:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Dacula, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,228
Devil's advocate to the Devil's advocate

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
I am going to assume that the Batter that struck out was a RH Batter.

The Batter strikes out and does what she is supposed to do: Go directly to her dugout, and that is what she did.

In the OP the Batter did not "hind[er] the catcher from catching or throwing the ball by stepping out of the batter's box," per ASA R7-S6P.

Nor does the EXCEPTION at the end of ASA R7-S6 apply, because it says: "If no play is being made and the batter accidentally makes coctact with catcher's throw to the pitcher, the ball is dead and any advancement of runner(s) shall be notified."

In both cases the Batter was doing what she was supposed to be doing and the catcher did not do what she was supposed to do, and that is to throw the ball ball to the pitcher. The batter did not accidentally make contact with catcher's return throw to the pitcher nor did the batter hinder the catcher from making a throw. The catcher made a bad throw and should not be rewarded from making a bad throw.

MTD, Sr.
Anytime someone uses the rationale of "doing what she is supposed to be doing" instead of "not interfering when she shouldn't interfere", you are using baseball mentality in a different game.

We don't have a batter any more; we have a retired batter. And that person doesn't have any rights, any place she can be, or anything she must do, except go back to the dugout without interfering. The only exceptions to interference rules relate to batters and runners being where they should/must be (in the box, on the base), and retired batters and runners have no place they should be; they need to not interfere.

We don't want to use an interference rule because there was no play; but even more than your rationale, we cannot allow the offense to benefit because their player, a retired batter, created an opportunity by not avoiding interfering. Dead ball, no one benefits, is the ONLY reasonable call. If you don't accept that, then I am leaning more to an out when the runner does try to advance, than a free opportunity.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 19, 2012, 08:10am
Moderator M-800
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 6,871
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
and does what she is supposed to do
Mark, I respect you here and you're interps and opinions are usually spot on...

But anytime you find you're using the quoted phrase, it's a sign you're headed down the wrong road.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Catcher throws to first on a bases empty ball four. RogersUmp Baseball 10 Tue Mar 30, 2010 07:26pm
Yankees-Jays (batter hit on strikeout) Jay R Baseball 4 Tue Sep 02, 2008 01:38am
ball hits batter cards2323 Baseball 2 Tue May 10, 2005 10:48am
Batter hits ball twice while in box chuck chopper Softball 2 Thu Apr 29, 2004 09:40pm
batter hits ball after hits ground kfinucan Softball 13 Sun Jun 29, 2003 09:29pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1