The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 23, 2004, 12:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Bentonville, AR
Posts: 461
Send a message via AIM to jumpmaster Send a message via MSN to jumpmaster Send a message via Yahoo to jumpmaster
I am confused with NFHS rule 7-4-4.
"If a fumble or backward pass is out of bounds behind a goal line, the ball belongs to the team defending that goal and the result is either a touchback or a safety".

I can't imagine a play in which this action would result in a touchback.

Help!?
__________________
Alan Roper

Stand your ground. Don't fire unless fired upon, but if they mean to have a war, let it begin here - CPT John Parker, April 19, 1775, Lexington, Mass
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 23, 2004, 12:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 39
Team A fumbles the ball at B's 2. The ball goes into the endzone and out of bounds behind B's goal line. It's a touchback.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 23, 2004, 07:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally posted by Bill D
Team A fumbles the ball at B's 2. The ball goes into the endzone and out of bounds behind B's goal line. It's a touchback.
And Team A throws a backward pass at B's 2 yard line which is muffed into the end zone and out of bounds or is recovered by B in the end zone and the play is blown dead. This too, is a touchback.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 26, 2004, 12:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
REPLY: Or...A10 fumbles the ball at his own 3. It rolls to a stop where B11 muffs the ball into A's endzone where it rolls out of bounds. Official rules that B's muff imparted a new force on the ball. Also a TB --> A, 1-10 at A's 20.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 27, 2004, 06:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: N.D.
Posts: 1,806
Consider the options.

(1) Is it a touchdown? (ball in possession of A beyond the goal line)

(2) Is it a safety? (Team defending the goal caused it to go into the endzone in their possession or out of the endzone)

(3) If none of the above? A touchback.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 28, 2004, 08:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Bentonville, AR
Posts: 461
Send a message via AIM to jumpmaster Send a message via MSN to jumpmaster Send a message via Yahoo to jumpmaster
Question

2 and goal at the 4. A1 runs Left sweep, and fumbles at the 1. Ball rolls into the end zone, B1 attempts to pickup the ball and knocks it out of bounds.

Safety?
__________________
Alan Roper

Stand your ground. Don't fire unless fired upon, but if they mean to have a war, let it begin here - CPT John Parker, April 19, 1775, Lexington, Mass
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 28, 2004, 09:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
Quote:
Originally posted by jumpmaster
2 and goal at the 4. A1 runs Left sweep, and fumbles at the 1. Ball rolls into the end zone, B1 attempts to pickup the ball and knocks it out of bounds.

Safety?
REPLY: The result would be a touchback. A's fumble is the force that puts the ball into B's endzone. B would get the ball 1-10 at their 20.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 28, 2004, 12:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: N.D.
Posts: 1,806
For a safety, B has to have had possession outside of the endzone and caused it to go into the endzone. If B never had possession, how can it be a safety? These are very basic fundamentals of football rules.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 28, 2004, 01:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Kirkland, Washington
Posts: 422
Send a message via ICQ to Jim S Send a message via AIM to Jim S
Wrong. The determination is force.
B(R) does not have to have possession in order to apply a new force to the ball.
K kicks to R. R runs to the R10 and fumbles, K picks up the ball and runs to the 5 where K fumbles. The ball comes to rest at the 2 and R in attempting to retrieve the ball accidently kicks it into the EZ and across the endline. Result is a safety. R's force is what put the ball into the EZ.
DO NOT get trapped into this on a kick though. A kick ends when the ball becomes dead by rule, or a player gains possession. This may be what you are thinking of.
__________________
Jim Schroeder

Read Rule 2, Read Rule 2, Read Rule 2!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 28, 2004, 04:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: N.D.
Posts: 1,806
Quote:
Originally posted by Jim S
Wrong. The determination is force.
B(R) does not have to have possession in order to apply a new force to the ball.
K kicks to R. R runs to the R10 and fumbles, K picks up the ball and runs to the 5 where K fumbles. The ball comes to rest at the 2 and R in attempting to retrieve the ball accidently kicks it into the EZ and across the endline. Result is a safety. R's force is what put the ball into the EZ.
DO NOT get trapped into this on a kick though. A kick ends when the ball becomes dead by rule, or a player gains possession. This may be what you are thinking of.
Jim is correct. B can "cause" the ball to go into the endzone as well as possess it first. Simply touching the ball that is already moving toward the endzone is not a new force. The concept is "WHO" caused the ball to go into the endzone.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1