The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 11, 2008, 01:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: MST
Posts: 243
Inbound

In my last two games I had the same thing occur and after asking my partners and looking up in the rule book I am still baffled, so I am turning to the experts for help!

Team A is inbound the ball on their own end line. A1 legally inbounds to A2 who quickly passes the ball back back to A1 who jumps from out of bounds grabs the ball in the air and lands in bounds.

The first night I called it a violation and tonight I didn't call it. I heard the coach moan as if I missed it as I ran by him, but I was unable to find that to be a violation.

Is there a clarification on a player needing to "establish" himself/herself in bounds prior to touching the ball?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 11, 2008, 01:59am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 6,791
4-35-3: The location of an airborne player with relation to (inbounds or out of bounds) is the same as at the time such player was last in contact with the floor or an extension of the floor, such as a bleacher.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 11, 2008, 03:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 12,297
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clark Kent View Post
In my last two games I had the same thing occur and after asking my partners and looking up in the rule book I am still baffled, so I am turning to the experts for help!

Team A is inbound the ball on their own end line. A1 legally inbounds to A2 who quickly passes the ball back back to A1 who jumps from out of bounds grabs the ball in the air and lands in bounds.

The first night I called it a violation and tonight I didn't call it. I heard the coach moan as if I missed it as I ran by him, but I was unable to find that to be a violation.

Is there a clarification on a player needing to "establish" himself/herself in bounds prior to touching the ball?
These two rulings from the Case Book should help you:

PLAYER LOCATION
4.35.1 SITUATION:
A1 has both feet on the floor behind the three-point line. A1
jumps and releases the ball on a successful try and then lands inside the line.

RULING:
Three points are scored. (5-2-1)

4.35.2 SITUATION:
Thrower A1 inbounds the ball to A2. A2 immediately throws
the ball back to A1. When A1 touches the pass, he/she has: (a) both feet touching
inbounds; (b) one foot touching inbounds and one out of bounds; or (c) one
foot touching inbounds and the other not touching the floor.
RULING: The ball
remains live in (a) and (c), but A1 has caused the ball to be out of bounds in (b).
(4-4-4)

__________________
When there is a double whistle, the first one to the table wins.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 11, 2008, 04:56am
9/11 - Never Forget
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,326
Send a message via Yahoo to grunewar
You are where you are, until you get where you're going

Clark - I like to explain it to coaches and young refs like this:

When a ball is going out of bounds and A1 dives after it and saves it before it goes out of bounds, it's a live ball because A1 dove from the court and never touched out of bounds. Therefore, he and the ball are still considered inbounds.

Same is the opposite (and backcourt). If a player is out of bounds (or in the backcourt) and leaps/jumps and touches the ball, it (the ball) then has the same status as the player when he left the court. Therefore - TWEET!

Also, in your case, you've got to have "something in and nothing out."
__________________
The little fortune-teller who escaped from prison was a small medium at large.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 11, 2008, 08:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: MST
Posts: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
4-35-3: The location of an airborne player with relation to (inbounds or out of bounds) is the same as at the time such player was last in contact with the floor or an extension of the floor, such as a bleacher.
Perfect that is the reference I was looking for!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inbound Warning tnsteele95 Basketball 15 Sat Jan 19, 2008 01:14pm
Where do you inbound the ball? JS 20 Basketball 2 Wed Jan 09, 2008 10:53am
inbound hand-off dguig Basketball 16 Wed May 17, 2006 05:45pm
tell where to inbound brianb87 Basketball 2 Thu Feb 02, 2006 09:39pm
inbound xxssmen Basketball 2 Fri Mar 12, 2004 08:00am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1