![]() |
Case Book 9.4.3(b)
Can someone copy or summarize that situation for me?
we had a situation in our game on Friday and our local chapter president has referenced me to that rule. Setter pushes (attacks) 2nd contact toward net from 8 feet off of net. Our MB blocks ball, it comes to our side where MB plays second contact. R1 ends play and calls double contact. He explains to our captain that ball was below the plane of the net in his judgment. |
Quote:
|
our local chapter president is saying ball height does matter.
he referenced Case Book 9.4.3. situation given is blocker jumps early and deflects ball when hands are below the top of the net. when you freeze the film at contact it's not even close... ball and hands are clearly above the plane of the net. But, yes it's judgement. after thinking about the play all weekend and talking to the chapter president yesterday, i was confused about the rule. wanting more interpretation. |
Quote:
Hope this helps. |
I made this exact call in a district tournament match last year. When in the back row, the (relatively short) setter had a strange habit of going to the net in a blocking motion, but not jumping (which kept her hands at least 6-8" below the top of the net).
One time, the opposing hitter hit the ball down into her hands (which were far below the top of the net). The ball bounced up, she then bumped it. Whistle. Two hits. Coach incredulous. After a brief explanation, she smiled, agreed, and play went on as scheduled. Of course, the fact that she was back row had no impact in this call. Just a side note that she jumped when she was in the front row during that match. On another note... Woe is the location where the "chapter president" doesn't understand that the position of the ball is paramount for BRA and that position of the hands is paramount for BRB. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
You've seen this quite a bit? Are you sure about this? Please describe the situation in which this happens. What is the player's rationale for jumping so high with his hands down? |
I have been hit in the head a few dozen times with the ball while my head was above the net. I can't recall specifically if my hands were below the net at this time (I was hit in the head...lol) I think I have put up a block and then pulled it down because I anticipated the hitter tooling off my block. This would be an opportunity to take one in the head while your hands are down.
|
Quote:
Quote:
As I said, it happens in men's ball. The ball isn't necessarily hit into the head, but since the head is above the net, the contact becomes a block because the player is, by rule, a blocker. |
Quote:
But while the scenario you describe seems rather uncommon but possible ... I'm in agreement with the other poster that it seems incredibly odd (nearly impossible, and very hard to envision) to have his happen to a back row player, which is what we were talking about. |
Quote:
Far from "nearly impossible." But then again, the men's game allows you to see things you would hardly ever see in the women's game. |
Quote:
Seriously... it's entirely possible someone could jump that high... but why would a back row player do it... and often enough for you to call it common? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Are you saying that back row setters jump with their head above the top of the net with their arms down in an effort to save an overpass? Really? All the time? This is something that I have never seen. I've certainly not worked as many matches as some here, but have worked quite a few in the past 15-20 years. |
Let it go man, it happens...mostly in mens, on occasion. Why do you care. You know the rule, enforce it when you see it.
|
Quote:
I still don't agree that this ever happens...(OK, now I'll move on). :D |
Quote:
|
Quote:
I'm done with this thread. Time to move on. |
The situation FMadera is describing is no where near as uncommon as you think it is. I too have had it in multiple matches I've refereed (men's), and I've had it called on me as a player in college.
I remember because my teammates and I laughed about just blocking with my head considering the ball went back over and landed on the other side's floor. |
Those convinced against their will,
Are of the same opinion still. :rolleyes: lol |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:28pm. |