The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Volleyball (https://forum.officiating.com/volleyball/)
-   -   Ball Handling (https://forum.officiating.com/volleyball/97772-ball-handling.html)

SCalScoreKeeper Sat Apr 19, 2014 03:26pm

Ball Handling

I've been working a decent amount of club this season but I'm still having trouble recognizing doubles and lifts.Does anyone have any advice to help with this problem? My ball handling marks in hs camp were all pretty good but then the 1 match I worked as a HS R1 (a jv match) my partner thought I let my setters get away with murder.
Thanks everyone

FMadera Sun Apr 20, 2014 10:14am

Are you following the flight of the ball, or are you getting ahead to the setter's hands? If you're following the flight of the ball, I'd urge you to learn to recognize the trajectory and speed of the ball off of each contact to get ahead to where the ball will be. When you get ahead to that next point of contact, your relaxed eyes will make things much easier for you to see.

You probably should also watch a match with experienced officials to see what they call. You might learn how certain violations look. In addition, you might want to videotape a match you work and have someone watch it to show you specifically which balls should have been called (or not). There are good officials camps out there where you can have your matches recorded and clips given to you for educational purposes.

oldsetter Sun Apr 20, 2014 10:08pm

Mr. Madera is spot on again. Watching other officials at all levels will give you a better understanding. Keep in mind there is a very wide range of ball handling when it comes to officials: from all bad passes are illegal to if you can't see it in the cheap seats - play on. The best you can do is try to not be an outlying data point. Read the guidelines for ball handling and remember it is more art than science. Remember 4 out of 10 officials agree on the legality of contacts. ;)