The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Volleyball (https://forum.officiating.com/volleyball/)
-   -   Attack definition (https://forum.officiating.com/volleyball/96235-attack-definition.html)

gair-z Tue Oct 08, 2013 09:46am

Attack definition
 
is there a definition for 'Attack' in the NFHS rule book ?

S1 server serves a lollipop just over net. R3 uses 2 hands and 'pushes' the ball back over the net to Team S side and in.
Is this considered an attack?
tx in advance.

Edit I seached the site and found some stuff..
so it's not an attack but a block? R3 is over the net and pushes it back.. tweet! illegal block. correct?

FMadera Tue Oct 08, 2013 11:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by gair-z (Post 906974)
is there a definition for 'Attack' in the NFHS rule book ?

S1 server serves a lollipop just over net. R3 uses 2 hands and 'pushes' the ball back over the net to Team S side and in.
Is this considered an attack?
tx in advance.

Edit I seached the site and found some stuff..
so it's not an attack but a block? R3 is over the net and pushes it back.. tweet! illegal block. correct?

It depends on if said contact meets the definition of a block. You didn't state player proximity to the net. Could be a block, could be an attack. If it meets the definition of a block, it's an illegal block. If contact was above the net and the attack is completed, it's an illegal attack. If not, it's not.

gair-z Tue Oct 08, 2013 12:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by FMadera (Post 906985)
It depends on if said contact meets the definition of a block. You didn't state player proximity to the net. Could be a block, could be an attack. If it meets the definition of a block, it's an illegal block. If contact was above the net and the attack is completed, it's an illegal attack. If not, it's not.

player proximity from net = 6'. Player contacts ball above net height and shoots it back over the net.
If she's not over the net, of course, it's legal
I don't have my book with me.
My buddy had this happen last night and is asking me. ;)
I'd say illegal block but unsure.

FMadera Wed Oct 09, 2013 08:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by gair-z (Post 906986)
player proximity from net = 6'. Player contacts ball above net height and shoots it back over the net.
If she's not over the net, of course, it's legal
I don't have my book with me.
My buddy had this happen last night and is asking me. ;)
I'd say illegal block but unsure.

If the ball was ENTIRELY above net height when contacted AND the attack was completed (9-5-1-b, 9-4-4) the it would be an illegal attack, not a block (9-6-6). You cannot have a block without a player in close proximity to the net (9-5-1-c).

If any of the ball was below the tape at all, said attack is legal. If you (or your buddy) are going to make this call, you'd better be 100% sure of the ball height.

gair-z Wed Oct 09, 2013 03:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by FMadera (Post 907074)
If the ball was ENTIRELY above net height when contacted AND the attack was completed (9-5-1-b, 9-4-4) the it would be an illegal attack, not a block (9-6-6). You cannot have a block without a player in close proximity to the net (9-5-1-c).

If any of the ball was below the tape at all, said attack is legal. If you (or your buddy) are going to make this call, you'd better be 100% sure of the ball height.

yep, him and I and our interp discussed it.. Illegal attack. He didn't call it but the coaches were yelling, "Illegal Attack! Illegal Block!" but as he said, he thought the ball had come down below the top tape.. soooo nothing!

...and it's easier NOT to call that than call it. ;)
We'll discuss this at our last meeting (tonight!)
Thanks for the help Mr. Madera.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:19am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1