The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Volleyball (https://forum.officiating.com/volleyball/)
-   -   simultaneously contact (https://forum.officiating.com/volleyball/95802-simultaneously-contact.html)

Zoochy Sat Aug 10, 2013 07:09pm

simultaneously contact
 
A5 and B9 legally and simultaneously contact a ball above the height of the net. The ball then lands out of bounds when on B’s side of the net. The first referee whistles and indicates that team B wins the rally. Is this the correct call? Why or why not?

pavbref Sun Aug 11, 2013 08:35am

Because I do not know what player B9 is, I will explain this assuming the B player was front row (B2, B3, or B4). B wins the rally because A5 is a back row player, and the effect of the play was a back row attack. If the B player was back row (B1, B5, or B6), the call is incorrect, because of a double fault. The fault is two back-row players simultaneously contacting the ball in the plain of the net (assumes that contact is above the height of the net).

Hope this clarifies your question.

Zoochy Sun Aug 11, 2013 08:59am

oops
 
Let me restate the question.
Front row players A1 and B1 legally and simultaneously contact a ball above the height of the net. The ball then lands out of bounds when on B’s side of the net. The first referee whistles and indicates that team B wins the rally. Is this the correct call? Why or why not?
Now, what is the ruling?

FMadera Sun Aug 11, 2013 10:17am

Correct call. When two players simultaneously contact the ball and the ball lands out of bounds, the ball is considered out off of the team on the opposite side of the side on which the ball landed.

oldsetter Sat Aug 17, 2013 11:20pm

What if the ball rolls along the net then as it is falling on one side of the net it hits the antenna near the bottom tape and falls out of bounds?
:D

FMadera Tue Aug 20, 2013 10:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by oldsetter (Post 902778)
What if the ball rolls along the net then as it is falling on one side of the net it hits the antenna near the bottom tape and falls out of bounds?
:D

If that happens, then it has fallen on one side...therefore, see previous response.

oldsetter Tue Aug 20, 2013 11:52pm

oh yeah, that makes sense. That would be a tough call to sell, you would have some splaining to do.
;)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:31pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1