The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Volleyball (https://forum.officiating.com/volleyball/)
-   -   Overhead Obstruction (https://forum.officiating.com/volleyball/95721-overhead-obstruction.html)

Zoochy Fri Aug 02, 2013 10:30am

Overhead Obstruction
 
During the prematch court inspection, the referees identify a vertical backboard above the playing surface. What is the referees' ruling if the ball strikes the vertical backboard during play?

FMadera Fri Aug 02, 2013 03:01pm

It depends on the rule set.

NFHS is judgment replay. Period. Regardless of height.

NCAA/USAV replay if the obstruction is below 15ft, treated as ceiling 15ft and above.

FIVB all ceiling obstructions are out.

(edited to add one very important word)

Zoochy Fri Aug 02, 2013 03:44pm

No Judgement? It still a replay even if the force of the ball is so hard that it would have gone out of play?

FMadera Sun Aug 04, 2013 12:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zoochy (Post 901583)
No Judgement? It still a replay even if the force of the ball is so hard that it would have gone out of play?

Oops, I left out one pretty big word. Yes, judgment replay. Still applies even if the vertical backboard is 30ft high, however.

My bad. I need to type slower. :-)

Felix


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1