The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Volleyball (https://forum.officiating.com/volleyball/)
-   -   back row attacker (https://forum.officiating.com/volleyball/94290-back-row-attacker.html)

timeout Thu Mar 07, 2013 07:08pm

back row attacker
 
Can a back row player ever attack a serve?

Thanks in advance

bbsbvb83 Thu Mar 07, 2013 11:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by timeout (Post 883577)
Can a back row player ever attack a serve?

Yes... when the ball is not completely above the height of the net.

FMadera Fri Mar 08, 2013 07:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bbsbvb83 (Post 883611)
Yes... when the ball is not completely above the height of the net.

Or NCAA/USAV if the ball is not in the attack zone, then ball height doesn't matter.

oldsetter Fri Mar 15, 2013 11:31pm

or the Libero can not complete any attack anywhere on or off the court...
Remember it is not an attack if it does not cross the net completely or is legally blocked

bbsbvb83 Sat Mar 16, 2013 08:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by oldsetter (Post 884968)
or the Libero can not complete any attack anywhere on or off the court...

Correct, if the ball is completely above the height of the net at the moment of contact.

MCBear Mon Mar 18, 2013 12:16am

Good catch bbsbvb83! :):cool::)

os, you have to be aware of the definition of an attack.

Per Rule 9-5-1b in the current NFHS Volleyball Rules Book:
Quote:

b. Attack — Any action other than a block or a serve that directs the ball toward the opponent's court. A team's third hit is always considered an attack. A completed attack occurs the instant the ball completely crosses the vertical plane of the net, or is legally contacted.
So, if the Libero directs the ball to the opponent's court from anywhere on the court, as long as the ball is partially below the top of the net, the contact is completely legal.

oldsetter Tue Mar 26, 2013 08:09pm

Yes, I was following the thought where the ball is above the height of the net - as in the illegal attack of the serve. In USAV it would be front zone for everyone plus anywhere for the Libero. i was pointing out that even a ball above the height of the net would be legal to attack...as long as the ball did not cross the net or was not legally blocked. An illegal block of a serve is illegal the instant the player (above the height of the net) touches it. it does not have to cross the net. Interestingly, I had a back row setter jump and set a serve that was completely above the height of the net. Since this is not an attack and is not a block - 1st team pass. This play is legal.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:11am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1