The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Volleyball (https://forum.officiating.com/volleyball/)
-   -   R2 get in the way (https://forum.officiating.com/volleyball/59353-r2-get-way.html)

Zoochy Wed Oct 13, 2010 02:41pm

R2 get in the way
 
R2 gets in the way of a player's attempt to play the ball. A reply is signaled. Coach does not agree. He gets out his rule book to dispute the ruling. After some time he is unable to over rule the call.
Q1: Was this the correct call?
Q2: Should team be charged a Time Out?

jkumpire Wed Oct 13, 2010 08:08pm

Even I can answer this!
 
1. FED would allow the replay call. R1 makes a judgment, live with it coach.
2. Unless the coach has the quickest hands in the history of human existence, he has to burn a TO to even get to the point of questioning the call with R1. The protocol for this is in the rule book, and I sure am not waiting more than the length of a timeout for him to come up with a rule.

R2 needs to try and settle the coach down, and R1 needs to call for serve, and not let the coach slow the game down!

MCBear Wed Oct 13, 2010 11:58pm

zoochy, in answer to your questions:

Quote:

Q1: Per 9-8-1f:
f. A player’s legitimate effort to legally play the ball, in the judgment of the referee, is affected by a:
1. Non-team member anywhere in a playable area;

Per 2-5:
SECTION 5 NON-TEAM MEMBERS
Non-team members include but are not limited to all authorized officials, media personnel (including equipment) and spectators located in playable areas.

So, yes, the replay was the correct call.
Quote:

Q2: Yes. Per 11-3-1 & 2:
SECTION 3 REVIEWING DECISIONS
ART. 1 . . . To review a decision by a referee that may have resulted in an incorrect decision, the head coach may request and be granted a time-out, provided the request is made during the dead ball immediately following the situation in which the possible incorrect decision occurred. When a time-out is so granted, the head coach shall confer with the first referee at the first referee’s platform. If the conference results in the first referee altering the ruling, the opposing coach shall be notified by the second referee, the revision made and the time-out charged to the referee.
ART. 2 . . . Decisions based on the judgment of the referee(s) are final and not subject to review.
PENALTY: If the referee’s decision prevails, the team requesting the conference shall be charged a time-out. If the team has already used its allotted time-outs, a loss of rally/point shall be awarded to the opponent.
The simplest response to the coach is, "Coach, in my judgment the R2 interfered with a legitimate effort to play the ball. It is my judgment that a replay is warranted. Since it is a judgment call, no review is allowed. Your team is assessed a Time-out since the call is not going to change. Let's play. Thank you."


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:28am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1