The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Volleyball (https://forum.officiating.com/volleyball/)
-   -   Some questions from tonight (https://forum.officiating.com/volleyball/59195-some-questions-tonight.html)

Scrapper1 Tue Sep 28, 2010 09:34pm

Some questions from tonight
 
Rule questions:

What has to happen for a screen to be called? Is it a screen if the serve just happens to go over the player(s) at the net? Do the players at the net have to have their arms raised or anything? Do they have to be standing right next to each other?

Player moves toward the net to play the ball. She completes the attack hit well below the height of the net, but can't stop her momentum and continues to run and contacts the net. Is this a net fault? Or is it considered to be no longer playing the ball? For full disclosure, my partner at R2 did not call it, and I called the net fault from the R1 position. But I'm questioning it now.

Mechanics question:

Is there a preferred "posture" on the stand as R1? I generally rest my hands in front of me on the stand. But I saw pictures of an official I respect a lot, and he stands with his hands at his sides during the rally. Any thoughts on presentation?

I think that's it for tonight. Thanks.

Scrapper1 Wed Sep 29, 2010 12:14pm

Here's one more that is probably WAAAAYYYYYY over-thinking. But when the serve goes into the net and does not go over, when does the fault actually occur? IOW, should I blow the whistle when it's obvious that it's not going over, or do I wait until the ball hits the floor or another player?

pavbref Wed Sep 29, 2010 06:02pm

First on the mechanics question, you should stand with your arms at your side. It looks more professional.

As for the player into the net because of momentum, for NFHS rules, it is a net fault. In other rule sets, it depends if the result causes interference with the other team playing the ball --i.e. if the other player backs off because of the incursion into the net and this causes the ball to hit the floor, it is probably interference caused by the net incursion.

For the screen, if the ball is hard hit over the player --i.e. on a direct line, it is screening. If the ball was looped over the net, it may not be screening. Also, if the receiving team can shift to see the serve, it is not screening.

On the third question, you should wait until the ball strikes the floor or another player. This is because you can get a fault on the receiving team before the ball becomes dead that would counter the bad serve.

Hope this helps.:)

MCBear Thu Sep 30, 2010 11:18am

scrapper,
Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
Mechanics question:

Is there a preferred "posture" on the stand as R1? I generally rest my hands in front of me on the stand. But I saw pictures of an official I respect a lot, and he stands with his hands at his sides during the rally. Any thoughts on presentation?

Preferred is either as you do or as the official you respect does. Just be aware of the message that your body language conveys.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
Player moves toward the net to play the ball. She completes the attack hit well below the height of the net, but can't stop her momentum and continues to run and contacts the net. Is this a net fault? Or is it considered to be no longer playing the ball? For full disclosure, my partner at R2 did not call it, and I called the net fault from the R1 position. But I'm questioning it now.

Since you play by NCAA Rules, refer to 15.2.1:
Quote:

15.2.1 Player Contact with Net or Antennas
Contact with the net by a player is not a fault, unless it is made during an action of playing the ball, or it interferes with the play. Playing the ball may include actions in which the player(s) does not actually touch the ball.
Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
What has to happen for a screen to be called? Is it a screen if the serve just happens to go over the player(s) at the net? Do the players at the net have to have their arms raised or anything? Do they have to be standing right next to each other?

Not necessarily. If the serve goes over them low, fast and hard, they could be guilty of a screen. But if the serve is a "lollipop", it is unlikely that a screen actually occurred. As pavbref indicated, if the receiving team can move and see the contact of the serve or the trajectory of the serve, no screen has occurred.

If I see a potential screen situation, I call the captain over and give her a warning, "There is a potential screen. If the serve goes directly over it low and fast, I will call it, so you might want to have your players do something - move apart, duck down, put their arms down - to avoid a call."

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
...when the serve goes into the net and does not go over, when does the fault actually occur? IOW, should I blow the whistle when it's obvious that it's not going over, or do I wait until the ball hits the floor or another player?

Wait until the ball hits the floor or another player.

Scrapper1 Thu Sep 30, 2010 12:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MCBear (Post 694406)
scrapper,

Preferred is either as you do or as the official you respect does. Just be aware of the message that your body language conveys.

Not trying to be a smart-@$$, but I'm not aware of what either posture conveys. I want to convey competent and relaxed. Not nervous or rigid, but not lazy either.


Quote:

Since you play by NCAA Rules, refer to 15.2.1:
Right. I actually knew that rule. I guess, then, my real question is whether "not being able to stop your momentum" after playing the ball is the same as "while playing the ball". She clearly did not interfere with the play of her opponent after the ball crossed the net. So the question is whether her net contact occurred while she was playing the ball.

Thanks to both of you for the other answers. Any further help is appreciated.

FMadera Thu Sep 30, 2010 03:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 694413)
Right. I actually knew that rule. I guess, then, my real question is whether "not being able to stop your momentum" after playing the ball is the same as "while playing the ball". She clearly did not interfere with the play of her opponent after the ball crossed the net. So the question is whether her net contact occurred while she was playing the ball.

The NCAA interpretation is once an attacker/blocker returns to the floor in a situation like this, they are considered to no longer be playing the ball.

In this case, she has returned to the floor, then contacted the net after that. Therefore, unless you deem the contact to have interfered with play, no violation has occurred.

Scrapper1 Fri Oct 01, 2010 07:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by FMadera (Post 694453)
The NCAA interpretation is once an attacker/blocker returns to the floor in a situation like this, they are considered to no longer be playing the ball.

In this case, she has returned to the floor, then contacted the net after that. Therefore, unless you deem the contact to have interfered with play, no violation has occurred.

Crap :(

Scrapper1 Fri Oct 15, 2010 09:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by pavbref (Post 694318)
First on the mechanics question, you should stand with your arms at your side. It looks more professional.

Tried this tonight and HATED it. It feels unnatural, and makes it difficult to give signals, because I have to lift my arm over the stand railing to point down at the court. I'll try it again tomorrow while I'm working solo, to see if it gets any better. But as of now, yuck. :(

MCBear Sat Oct 16, 2010 11:45am

scrapper, it is always awkward and uncomfortable at first on any mechanics adjustment. If you WANT to use that posture, then it will take time for you to get used to it. Stick with it, brother!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:50pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1