The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Volleyball (https://forum.officiating.com/volleyball/)
-   -   need help on this one....... (https://forum.officiating.com/volleyball/58722-need-help-one.html)

garef Thu Jul 29, 2010 06:20pm

need help on this one.......
 
R1 passes a served ball,and the ball travels into the plane above the net.

R5 legally contacts the ball while reaching higher than the top of the net

Simultaneously , S3 legally blocks the ball


what happens??

point for team S

point for team R

play on

we are spit 2-2 on point for team R and point for team S

please help!!!

MCBear Fri Jul 30, 2010 01:33am

NCAA Rule 14.6.1 RULING: Illegal block on R5. Regardless of her intent, a back-row player is an illegal back-row blocker when she is near the net, reaches higher than the top of the net, and there is either simultaneous contact of the ball with an opponent, or the opponent legally causes the ball to contact her. Once the ball enters the plane of the net, either team has a legal right to play the ball.

Therefore, point for Team S.

NFHS Rule 9-5-1c NOTE: If a player near the net is reaching above the height of the net and opponents legally cause the ball to contact him/her, the player is considered to be a blocker. A back-row player attempting to play a ball in the space directly above the net is considered an illegal blocker if the ball is attacked or blocked by an opponent into the back-row player while the player is reaching above the height of the net (including simultaneous contact).

The problem in your situation is that if R5 and S3 simultaneously contact the ball in the plane of the net, R5 cannot possibly contact the ball legally while reaching higher than the top of the net so she is considered to be a back-row blocker.

garef Fri Jul 30, 2010 08:31am

thanks for the help !!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:34am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1