The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Volleyball (https://forum.officiating.com/volleyball/)
-   -   Improper request -- NCAA (https://forum.officiating.com/volleyball/48212-improper-request-ncaa.html)

Scrapper1 Fri Sep 05, 2008 09:40pm

Improper request -- NCAA
 
I just want to make sure that I have this down correctly. R1 whistles for service. Coach A requests a time-out. R2 whistles for the time-out.

At this point, we have an improper request.

If it's the first IR of the set, we do not grant the time-out, we make a note on the scoresheet about the IR, and we continue play. We do not issue a card (even if there has been a previous warning for delay).

If it's the second IR of the set, we do not grant the time-out, we make a note on the scoresheet about the IR, and we issue a yellow card (warning).

If it's the third of the set, we do not grant the time-out, we make a note on the scoresheet about the IR and we issue a red card. A point is awarded to Team B.

Is that correct? Basically 3 strikes before you lose the point?

Is it any different if the R2 is aware enough NOT to blow the whistle for the Coach's request?

Remember, NCAA, please.

Back In The Saddle Sat Sep 06, 2008 01:09am

This may not be correct by NCAA rules, but on the second IR I stare at the coaches pants and puke on his shoes. Never had a third IR in a set. ;)

FMadera Sat Sep 06, 2008 07:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
I just want to make sure that I have this down correctly. R1 whistles for service. Coach A requests a time-out. R2 whistles for the time-out.

At this point, we have an improper request.

If it's the first IR of the set, we do not grant the time-out, we make a note on the scoresheet about the IR, and we continue play. We do not issue a card (even if there has been a previous warning for delay).

If it's the second IR of the set, we do not grant the time-out, we make a note on the scoresheet about the IR, and we issue a yellow card (warning).

If it's the third of the set, we do not grant the time-out, we make a note on the scoresheet about the IR and we issue a red card. A point is awarded to Team B.

Is that correct? Basically 3 strikes before you lose the point?

Is it any different if the R2 is aware enough NOT to blow the whistle for the Coach's request?

Remember, NCAA, please.

First off...if the R2 whistles to acknowledge that IR, then it becomes a team delay. The only way it's an IR is if it's waved off, shot down, etc. Once it's acknowledged with the whistle, it's a team delay.

Otherwise, assuming the whistle is not blown, your sanction scale is correct.

Scrapper1 Sat Sep 06, 2008 12:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by FMadera
First off...if the R2 whistles to acknowledge that IR, then it becomes a team delay. The only way it's an IR is if it's waved off, shot down, etc. Once it's acknowledged with the whistle, it's a team delay.

And does that make it an immediate yellow card?

Quote:

Otherwise, assuming the whistle is not blown, your sanction scale is correct.
Thanks.

FMadera Sun Sep 07, 2008 01:33pm

Team Delay Warning (NCAA): Yellow card held to the back of the hand. Not to be confused with an individual yellow card sanction.

jkumpire Sun Sep 07, 2008 05:55pm

A Question
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle
This may not be correct by NCAA rules, but on the second IR I stare at the coaches pants and puke on his shoes. Never had a third IR in a set. ;)

Saddle,

Does that mean you change your pre-match meal based on the coaching staff you are about to see? :)

Scrapper1 Mon Sep 08, 2008 07:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by FMadera
Not to be confused . . .

That's asking an awful lot.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:04am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1