![]() |
Unbeckoned server
At the high school level what should happen when a server serves before being beckoned? I called a reserve last week but got different opinions from some veterans. One said should be unnecessary delay another said it is a non play and just blow the whistle and restart without a reserve. What is right? Thanks
|
It's nothing
Good question, but not UD!
|
Quote:
|
Refer your colleagues...
vawils, Refer your colleagues to the following two rules:
* 9-8 "ART. 1 . . . A replay is the act of putting the ball in play without awarding a a loss of rally/point and without a rotation for the serve. A replay may be declared when: ...c. A player unintentionally serves the ball prior to the first referee's signal to serve;" - - - - - - and - - - - - - * 8-2 "ART. 5 . . . A serve is illegal and the ball remains dead if the server: ...e. Deliberately serves before the first referee's signal to begin the serve; (Unsporting Conduct)" As you can see, unless you judged the server to have done it deliberately, you made the right call. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:41pm. |