The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 12, 2005, 12:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,273
Quote:
Originally posted by cdhfsh
Can a player bring there hands over the net to hit or block a ball?
Depends..........player may never attack a ball completely on opponent's side of the net, but can in some circumstances legally block one - see below for details:

Ref NFHS 9.6.3: A player shall not contact a ball which is completely on opponents side of the net unless the contact is a legal block.

and 9.6.4: Blocking a ball which is entirely on the opponent's side of the net is permitted when the opposing team has had an opportunity to complete its attack. The attack is considered complete when:
a. Attacking team has completed its 3 allowable hits
b. Attacking team has the opportunity to complete the attack or in official's judgement has directed the ball toward the opponent's court.
c. Ball is falling near the net and in official's judgement no member of the attacking team could make a play on the ball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:16pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1