![]() |
Yesterday I was watching a match and a strange thing happened. Team A requested a sub, granted OK. Team B then calls for a time out, granted OK. Now here's where I got confused. At the end of the timeout, Team A requested another sub and had this sub granted. This was NFHS rules and I would like the opinions on whether or not this sub should be granted.
Thanks |
"Each team is permitted only one request for substitution during the same dead ball".
It remains the same dead ball regardless of the timeout. The second substitution request should not have been allowed. |
outathm, as Homer said, the second substitution should not have been allowed. 10-1-3 as he quoted is quite specific. The umpire goofed in this case by allowing the second sub at the conclusion of the time-out after they had already subbed at the beginning of the T-O.
|
Thanks for the help. I didn't think that hte second should have been allowed, but I am getting back into VB after a year off and we all know how things change in the NFHS world.
|
Subs on both sides
:) MCBear. it is great to have someone with your credentials answering questions and adding important comments to these threads. Hope you continue to comment.
|
UMP 64, thank you for the kind words. They are greatly appreciated. However, I am not alone - I know that another excellent contributor is my good friend, Felix Madera.
In addition, there are many others who are astute and who share here. |
Subs on both sides
:) Hats off to Felix also.
|
Thanks!
It's *possible* the umpire might work NCAA volleyball, where by rule, that second sub was allowable because of the timeout in between requests for substitution, and got the rulesets confused. |
not really me
The original poster in this thread is not really outathm. I was ahrd at work when hte thread was posted. Beware that when you leave a puter in a public setting you sign out.
The real OAH. |
Quote:
|
Scrapper,
I wasn't asking where, I was saying it was. :) |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:20pm. |