The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Volleyball (https://forum.officiating.com/volleyball/)
-   -   R2 assistance (https://forum.officiating.com/volleyball/106454-r2-assistance.html)

IK13 Sun Aug 17, 2025 08:41pm

R2 assistance
 
Question:
Quote:

After tight net play during which a blocker may or may not have touched a ball and the ball subsequently lands “out” on the attacker’s side of the net, the second referee may assist the first referee by quickly indicating the team at fault with an open hand. Is this correct or incorrect?
Explanation:
Quote:

NCAA/PAVO Officiating Techniques
It is only necessary for the second referee to indicate the team at fault; it is not necessary to signal "out." This indication is done by extending the arm, open hand. If necessary, this technique may be used for an antenna fault as well. The second referee should not “lead” the result; instead, mimic the first referee. This communication technique should be part of the referees’ prematch discussion.
I might have thicker than usual brain fog today, but I don't get what are they talking about. Where do you point with that "extended arm, open, hand” so it is not "leading"?

I guess I am "leading" when my R1 gives me the stare in the above situation. Have been asked several times to do so during a prematch discussion too. If I have time, I might only step to the side at fault, but if that's not enough and the stare stays - I'll still "lead".

SNIPERBBB Mon Aug 18, 2025 08:05am

Maybe not quite fully extended? Since you're going to be pointing at the fault side if you go fully extended it would look like you're awarding the point to the fault side.

FMadera Mon Aug 18, 2025 09:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IK13 (Post 1054053)
Question:


Explanation:


I might have thicker than usual brain fog today, but I don't get what are they talking about. Where do you point with that "extended arm, open, hand” so it is not "leading"?

I guess I am "leading" when my R1 gives me the stare in the above situation. Have been asked several times to do so during a prematch discussion too. If I have time, I might only step to the side at fault, but if that's not enough and the stare stays - I'll still "lead".

In this context, "leading the result" means awarding the point. The R2 should never be the first one to award a point in a rally.

You can offer up information, and if your partner has deer in the headlights, you should be less than subtle when you are clearly being asked for information. I do not believe that's what "leading" means here, so much as taking charge on providing helpful information.

Scrapper1 Mon Aug 18, 2025 12:01pm

Go "hard" to the fault side!

IK13 Mon Aug 18, 2025 02:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by FMadera (Post 1054059)
In this context, "leading the result" means awarding the point. The R2 should never be the first one to award a point in a rally.

You can offer up information, and if your partner has deer in the headlights, you should be less than subtle when you are clearly being asked for information. I do not believe that's what "leading" means here, so much as taking charge on providing helpful information.

Right. The way it is stated however has me questioning if I'm not completely ignorant of a specific mechanic.

Quote:

It is only necessary for the second referee to indicate the team at fault; it is not necessary to signal "out." This indication is done by extending the arm, open hand. If necessary, this technique may be used for an antenna fault as well.
To clarify - how extended is the arm and where does it point to?

bob jenkins Mon Aug 18, 2025 04:50pm

I *think* it's kind of like indicating which player committed a net fault in USAV.

From the PAVO official's manual:

Particularly on a play near the second referee’s antenna, if you
see an attacked ball touch an opposing blocker, rebound back to
the attacker’s side, and then land out of bounds on the attacker’s
side, quickly extend an arm and open hand toward the blocker that
caused the ball to go out. If, in your opinion, the blocker did not
touch the attacked ball, and the ball rebounds from the net tape
and then lands out of bounds on the attacker’s side, extend an arm
and open hand toward the attacker. This assistance allows the first
referee to signal the correct result of the rally. Then mimic the first
referee’s point signal

IK13 Tue Aug 19, 2025 01:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1054071)
I *think* it's kind of like indicating which player committed a net fault in USAV.

From the PAVO official's manual:

Particularly on a play near the second referee’s antenna, if you
see an attacked ball touch an opposing blocker, rebound back to
the attacker’s side, and then land out of bounds on the attacker’s
side, quickly extend an arm and open hand toward the blocker that
caused the ball to go out. If, in your opinion, the blocker did not
touch the attacked ball, and the ball rebounds from the net tape
and then lands out of bounds on the attacker’s side, extend an arm
and open hand toward the attacker. This assistance allows the first
referee to signal the correct result of the rally. Then mimic the first
referee’s point signal

Thanks. I don’t recall ever seen this being used. From the responses here - it appears nor has anyone else. Seems it could be a source of confusion, instead of clarification. I can picture myself extending my arm to point to the attacker just to have my R1 mistake this for me “leading”/pointing to the team that should win the rally. TBH, I don’t see me successfully converting any of my old timer colleagues to this any time soon.

FMadera Wed Aug 20, 2025 10:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IK13 (Post 1054074)
Thanks. I don’t recall ever seen this being used. From the responses here - it appears nor has anyone else. Seems it could be a source of confusion, instead of clarification. I can picture myself extending my arm to point to the attacker just to have my R1 mistake this for me “leading”/pointing to the team that should win the rally. TBH, I don’t see me successfully converting any of my old timer colleagues to this any time soon.

What Bob posted is the way we normally used it, especially pre-headsets. I don't have to go nearly as demonstratively with the signal if I have headsets ("Off the block!") as I did beforehand.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:02am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1