![]() |
Legal first ball double or not?
How did you call the last Ryan MacDowell’s “Make The Call” video?
|
I seem to recall a refschool practice test question that was subantially similar to the video. I answered as I recalled the correct answer on the test to be.
|
I'm the LJ2 in that video! We discussed it at length after the match. I'm going with a legal play.
|
Legal first ball double, one attempt to play the ball – Award a point and the serve to the team in white on the near side of the net
Commentary: Rational Rule 14.2.3.1 Successive contacts with various parts of the player’s body in a single attempt to play the ball are permitted during blocking, the team’s first hit, or the team’s second hit if the ball is next contacted by a teammate. QUIZ RESULTS 58% - Legal, point to the team in white (correct answer) 42% - Illegal, point to the team in black (incorrect answer) This play is LEGAL, and a point should be awarded to the team in white. The Secretary Rules Editor (SRE) has interpreted that the defensive player did not make a second attempt at playing the ball. Both the pancake and the kick were in the same defensive movement, thus one attempt to play the ball. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:15pm. |