![]() |
NFHS rules regarding protests
The FED rulebook is really frustrating me today. Is there anyplace that addresses protesting a misapplied rule? Specifically, if the final point of a set is awarded incorrectly due to a misapplied rule, can a team protest this? If so, how long do they have (during the 3 minute intermission between sets) before it's too late to protest?
|
They don't really call it "protest" -- it's "Reviewing Decisions" -- see 11-3.
Interesting case (to which I don't have an answer): Team A has used both time-outs. After losing the set, the coach asks that the last point be reviewed for some rules issue. The decision is not changed. Does the coach get a freebie? Lose a TO for the next set? Lose a point in the next set? And -- how long is the "dead ball immediately following the situation" if it happens after match point? (Maybe -- since the conference is supposed to happen at the stand, maybe once the referee has left the stand it's too late.) |
That protocol, besides being not very clear, or complete, is also somewhat…avoided as a topic in instructional meetings/classes. At least in my experience. I’m sure a lot of refs are not even aware of it. That goes for most coaches too.
|
Well, I guess the good news is that I'm not missing something obvious in the rulebook.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:37pm. |