The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 12, 2024, 11:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Janesville, WI
Posts: 765
Send a message via ICQ to FMadera Send a message via AIM to FMadera Send a message via Yahoo to FMadera
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
It sounds like a back row player jumped from behind the attack line and contacted the ball when it was behind the attack line. That all seems perfectly legal to me.
It does...until you read 14.5.2.

14.5.2 Attacking the Serve
It is illegal for a player to complete an attack-hit on the opponent’s service while the ball is in the front zone and entirely above the top of the net.
(Bold/underline emphasis mine)
__________________
Felix A. Madera
USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee
FIVB Qualified International Scorer
PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer
WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 12, 2024, 03:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Thanks for all the help so far.

Question 4:

A substitute for Team S enters the substitution zone, and the second referee whistles to acknowledge a substitution request. The second referee then notices that the substitute has a tongue piercing. The second referee denies the substitution request and indicates to the first referee that Team S should be sanctioned with a delay. Is the second referee's action correct or incorrect?

I said "incorrect" -- studs (an assumption on the tongue piercing) are allowed above the chin (also an assumption). The school has "correct." Wrong assumptions, or am I misunderstanding the rule?

Edit:

The next test I took had this question:

After a substitute for Team S enters the substitution zone, the second referee notices that the substitute has a piercing post in her tongue. The second referee denies the substitution request and signals the first referee to assess a delay warning to Team S. No other team sanctions have been assessed to Team S in this set. Is the second referee's decision correct or incorrect?

Here, the answer is "Incorrect" with a note that "A piercing post or stud worn above the chin is permitted. " So, unless I am mis-reading (entirely possible), the first question seems to be wrong.

Last edited by bob jenkins; Mon Aug 12, 2024 at 03:56pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 12, 2024, 04:56pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
"A piercing post or stud worn above the chin is permitted. " So, unless I am mis-reading (entirely possible), the first question seems to be wrong.
I agree that the first answer was a mistake. The tongue stud is legal in my match.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 12, 2024, 04:54pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by FMadera View Post
It does...until you read 14.5.2.

14.5.2 Attacking the Serve
It is illegal for a player to complete an attack-hit on the opponent’s service while the ball is in the front zone and entirely above the top of the net.
(Bold/underline emphasis mine)
Right, but part of the question stipulates that the ball is behind the attack line. So the player jumped from behind the line, and the ball is behind the line. Which is why I indicated that it was legal.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 12, 2024, 05:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Janesville, WI
Posts: 765
Send a message via ICQ to FMadera Send a message via AIM to FMadera Send a message via Yahoo to FMadera
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
Right, but part of the question stipulates that the ball is behind the attack line. So the player jumped from behind the line, and the ball is behind the line. Which is why I indicated that it was legal.
Oops, guess I should read. Yes, this is legal, which was what the R1 ruled in the question. The correct answer is his decision was correct.

Sorry, long weekend.
__________________
Felix A. Madera
USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee
FIVB Qualified International Scorer
PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer
WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Net violation (USAV and PAVO only)???? kycat1 Volleyball 5 Tue Mar 29, 2016 04:15pm
PAVO Refschool Practice Test pavbref Volleyball 1 Mon Aug 04, 2014 12:34pm
PAVO Refschool practice tests pavbref Volleyball 10 Sat Aug 18, 2012 12:00am
PAVO membership? jkumpire Volleyball 1 Tue Jul 26, 2011 02:43am
Are all ref's members of PAVO too? OmniSpiker Volleyball 6 Mon Nov 05, 2007 10:57am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:52am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1