![]() |
Reaching under the net
Did a high school game tonight with FED rules. S1 serves the ball which is clearly falling short of the net. R1 reaches under the net and catches the ball while it's still on the serving team's side of the net and before it hits the floor.
Is this anything? I didn't call anything. But it just made me think. |
Would you want to do anything that discourages the players from saving a little time?
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Telling people what possible consequences (not sanctions, btw) might occur from something goes a LONG way toward getting them to understand why they shouldn't engage in a particular action. I normally get thank yous for explaining what they're doing, why I'm asking them to stop, and how I *really* don't want to have to make that call. |
I saw this happen the other day (for the first time can I recall) after the third hit bump failed to clear the net.
The would-be receiving team reached completely under (without contacting the net) and grabbed the ball as it cleared the bottom of the net, before it hit the floor. Yes, I know the play wasn't over, but didn't want to be that ref. ;) |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44am. |