![]() |
Changing numbers
Pretty sure I know the answer on this. Just looking for other perspectives. I worked a prep school match using NCAA rules. Between sets 2 and 3, libero #3 changes jerseys to a regular team jersey with the #3. Perfect. Love it.
Regular player #9 changes to libero jersey #5. Not cool. I'm pretty sure this is NOT allowed in NCAA. (I know that NFHS allows a player to have 2 different numbers if one of them is for the libero jersey.) NCAA 7.1.2.8 seems pretty clear that once the lineup is submitted to start the match, nobody is allowed to change numbers. (I had to look up the exact citation when I got home.) To compound this situation, there's already a #5 in a regular jersey on the bench. I was just going to let it go until I noticed the second #5. So I called the captain over and asked her to ask the coach to double-check for a libero jersey with the #9. And if they really don't have one, is #5 on the bench going to play? The answer came back as no libero #9 jersey and no, #5 on the bench isn't going to play. So I didn't make a stink about it. But by rule, I'm right on this, correct? Player #9 shouldn't be allowed to change to libero #5. Correct? |
Quote:
We seem to be having similar issues -- I was working a D-3 JV "match" (in quoted s because it doesn't count in any standings, etc -- just a chance to get more kids some court time before the regular match) when one team started a set with #14 as the L, then the regular player came back in and the L#21 came in. I pointed at the new Land showed the letter L with my fingers to the coach with a questioning look on my face -- he kind of raised his hands as if to say "it's only JV" -- I laughed and let it go. I was really just being sure the opposing coach saw the change and didn't care. |
Well, if you were using NCAA rules, we don't really work with rosters (the scorer, if using electronic scoring, might, as well as the statisticians). So there really wouldn't be a penalty here in an NCAA match, though it's a good idea to let the stats people know so they can do their job.
|
Quote:
|
See also Rule 12, Situation 4 and Situation 11. To me, these seem to not allow a number change unless there's a libero redesignation -- which Scrapper did no have.
There is also some case, or maybe it was in the RefSchool test review, where a team changes colors completely during an intermission -- that';s allowed, but the numbers need to be the same. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:30am. |