The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Volleyball (https://forum.officiating.com/volleyball/)
-   -   Substitution (https://forum.officiating.com/volleyball/106047-substitution.html)

bbman Fri Sep 01, 2023 01:16pm

Substitution
 
Sub comes into the substitution area, but coach calls her back before R2 reconizers her. Must she enter or can the coach call her back?

bob jenkins Sat Sep 02, 2023 06:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bbman (Post 1051146)
Sub comes into the substitution area, but coach calls her back before R2 reconizers her. Must she enter or can the coach call her back?

Entering the zone is a sub request. In HS, the coach must sub or take a delay penalty.

bbman Sat Sep 02, 2023 10:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1051149)
Entering the zone is a sub request. In HS, the coach must sub or take a delay penalty.

So, If he coach takes a delay penalty, the sub does not have to go in?

bob jenkins Sun Sep 03, 2023 06:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bbman (Post 1051152)
So, If he coach takes a delay penalty, the sub does not have to go in?

Correct. And, my use of the word "penalty" was incorrect -- it's a warning the first time; a penalty / loss of point/rally the second time in a set.

bbman Sun Sep 03, 2023 08:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1051156)
Correct. And, my use of the word "penalty" was incorrect -- it's a warning the first time; a penalty / loss of point/rally the second time in a set.

Great, thanks
If coach asked for a T.O. in this senero, would sub still have to come in?

Scrapper1 Sun Sep 03, 2023 11:48am

It sounds like bbman is using NFHS rules. In NCAA, this is not a delay warning if it is the first occurrence of the set. It would be in Improper Request. A second improper request in the same set would generate a delay warning.

bob jenkins Sun Sep 03, 2023 01:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 1051159)
It sounds like bbman is using NFHS rules. In NCAA, this is not a delay warning if it is the first occurrence of the set. It would be in Improper Request. A second improper request in the same set would generate a delay warning.

Yes -- I defaulted to HS rules.

bbman Sun Sep 03, 2023 09:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1051164)
Yes -- I defaulted to HS rules.

If coach asked for a T.O. in this senero, would sub still have to come in?

bob jenkins Mon Sep 04, 2023 06:25am

I *think* we're going to finish with the sub request (sub or delay) before we acknowledge the TO request.

FMadera Tue Sep 05, 2023 01:54pm

I'll give the real world answer.

Player gets into the sub zone, and comes back out before the whistle, warn her not to do it again, don't sanction. That said, you should be aware of things, and generally, once they step into the sub zone, whistle.

Now, if a team is out of subs, and a player is used to coming in, steps in, and coach is like NO NO NO, and player comes out of the zone quickly, don't look for trouble.

Just my thoughts.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:34am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1