The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Volleyball (https://forum.officiating.com/volleyball/)
-   -   Over the net (https://forum.officiating.com/volleyball/106045-over-net.html)

bbman Fri Sep 01, 2023 01:10pm

Over the net
 
Player red reaches completely over the net to play the ball before the other (white) team has a chance to play the ball. I believe it's legal if the white team has had their third hit. If they haven't had their third hit, illegal (over the net). But what, if after whites second hit, red reaches completely over the net and hits the ball down to where no white player can possibly play the ball? Legal or illegal?
Thanks

bob jenkins Sat Sep 02, 2023 07:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bbman (Post 1051144)
Player red reaches completely over the net to play the ball before the other (white) team has a chance to play the ball. I believe it's legal if the white team has had their third hit. If they haven't had their third hit, illegal (over the net). But what, if after whites second hit, red reaches completely over the net and hits the ball down to where no white player can possibly play the ball? Legal or illegal?
Thanks

A team can never attack a ball that's across the net.

A team can block a ball that's across the net if:
a. Attacking team has completed their three hits
b. Attacking team has directed the ball to the defending team's court
c. Ball is falling hear the net and no player on the attacking team has a play on the ball.

Both B and C require R1's judgement.

bbman Sat Sep 02, 2023 10:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1051150)
A team can never attack a ball that's across the net.

A team can block a ball that's across the net if:
a. Attacking team has completed their three hits
b. Attacking team has directed the ball to the defending team's court
c. Ball is falling hear the net and no player on the attacking team has a play on the ball.

Both B and C require R1's judgement.

So, in 'A', the player can reach completely over the net and attack a ball that has been hit by the opponent after their 3rd hit?

In 'C', if a player plays a ball completely over the net and hits it where there is no opponent, it's legal?

Also, "A team can never attack a ball that's across the net". Would seem to say NEVER can a player play the ball completely on the other side of the net. So a, b & c would contradict that.

bob jenkins Sun Sep 03, 2023 06:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bbman (Post 1051154)
So, in 'A', the player can reach completely over the net and attack a ball that has been hit by the opponent after their 3rd hit?

In 'C', if a player plays a ball completely over the net and hits it where there is no opponent, it's legal?

Also, "A team can never attack a ball that's across the net". Would seem to say NEVER can a player play the ball completely on the other side of the net. So a, b & c would contradict that.

"Attack" and "block" are separate items. A player can never attack a ball that's across the net. A player can sometimes block a ball that's across the net.

C refers to a player having a play on the ball as it's passed; not after the opposing team blocks it to a part of the court where no one is standing.

bbman Sun Sep 03, 2023 08:33am

Thank you


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1