The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Volleyball (https://forum.officiating.com/volleyball/)
-   -   What's the call (https://forum.officiating.com/volleyball/105826-whats-call.html)

chapmaja Thu Oct 27, 2022 11:54am

What's the call
 
NFHs rules.

Team S serves, R2 overpasses the ball into the plane of the net. R6 (backrow setter) attempts to jump and save the overpass. Team S2 (front row middle blocker) jumps and

a) contacts the ball which has been already contacted by R6 but is still within the plane of the net.

b) contacts the hand of R6, but not the ball as R6 is attempting to save the ball back into her teams side of the net.

c) contacts both the hand and the ball simultaneously as R6 is attempting to save the ball back into her side of the net.


a would seem pretty clear, illegal back row attack as the ball was last touched by R6, a backrow player, and the ball was still within the plane of the net.

b and c - Since the contact occurred with R6's hand, not the ball, while R6 is making a legal play on the ballis this interference. Does the position of the ball in the plane of the next change the ruling. I know if R6 was setting the ball on her side of the net and S2 contacts her hand, it is over the net - interference.

bob jenkins Thu Oct 27, 2022 12:11pm

I'd say this is INT -- 9-6-7d

Scrapper1 Tue Jun 06, 2023 09:05am

What signal would we use for interference of this type?

(I know what we'd do for interference under the net.)

FMadera Tue Jun 06, 2023 09:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 1050974)
What signal would we use for interference of this type?

(I know what we'd do for interference under the net.)

Reaching over.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:16am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1