The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Volleyball (https://forum.officiating.com/volleyball/)
-   -   Server (https://forum.officiating.com/volleyball/105776-server.html)

bob jenkins Mon Aug 22, 2022 09:12pm

Server
 
After R1 beckons for serve, server S1 attempts to bounce the ball on the floor. The ball hits her foot and rolls away.

Should R1:
a) blow the whistle and reset (i.e, replay, not re-serve)
b) blow the whistle and signal re-serve
c) count (slowly) to 5 and then whistle a fault (unless S1 can retrieve the ball and either serve or toss the ball and not serve)
d) other

Lcubed48 Tue Aug 23, 2022 03:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1048642)
After R1 beckons for serve, server S1 attempts to bounce the ball on the floor. The ball hits her foot and rolls away.

Should R1:
b) blow the whistle and signal re-serve

I say "b". My reading of the rules say that the R1 should allow a re-serve. 8-1-6.

zozman Tue Aug 30, 2022 07:20am

Re-Serve
 
In this situation, there was no attempt to play the ball, therefore, it is a re-serve. (NFHS 8-1-6)

zoz

bob jenkins Tue Aug 30, 2022 09:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by zozman (Post 1048680)
In this situation, there was no attempt to play the ball, therefore, it is a re-serve. (NFHS 8-1-6)

zoz

8-1-6 "A re-serve shall be called when the server releases the ball for service, then catches it or it drops to the floor.

That bold part didn't happen in the OP.

Not saying hat it shouldn't be a re-serve, only that making it so requires (for me) some additional explanation / interpretation

Hawkeyes Sun Sep 04, 2022 10:53am

Doesn't this depend on the level of play and the official's discretion since "the service" never began? The officials can stop the match for any reason.

I suppose that if a player dropped the ball, it crossed the line without touching the foot, I'd likely call for a replay and not a reserve.

However, it would be interesting if the servers teammate picked up the ball, tossed it back to them, and it was served within five seconds, or if the player crossed the end line, retrieved the ball, and returned to the service area for a legal serve, all within five seconds...whew,
It seems like a nightmare that is avoided by stopping and permitting a replay or reserve.

Option C seems like I'd be breaking into jail.

FMadera Wed Sep 14, 2022 01:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1048683)
8-1-6 "A re-serve shall be called when the server releases the ball for service, then catches it or it drops to the floor.

That bold part didn't happen in the OP.

Correct. By rule, C is the correct answer. There has been no toss for serve, so no justification for a re-serve.

Now, if you're working some lower level ball, you could probably get away with killing the play and starting over, but in a heated match, C is the way to go. Maybe make sure they can see that they are on a (slow) count, but if they aren't even looking at you...lesson learned.

genetoy71 Sat Sep 17, 2022 04:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by zozman (Post 1048680)
In this situation, there was no attempt to play the ball, therefore, it is a re-serve. (NFHS 8-1-6)

zoz

This is incorrect. Correct application of the rule is "C"


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1