The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 11, 2022, 10:18pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,433
NCAA Men's Championship match

Did anybody see the Championship match last weekend?

Take a look at this play.

https://youtu.be/2JJFf8evDWs?t=5357

I was watching it live and didn't understand what was happening. This is a clear back row block that is missed. In fact, you can see the R1 signaling that the back row player was below the height of the net (which you'll see that he wasn't). But then the play is challenged. What did the Hawaii coach challenge??? You can't challenge whether the ball was above the height of the net. But the challenge is accepted and then is successful.

I had to watch it about 10 times to understand what happened. Thoughts/comments?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 12, 2022, 07:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Columbus, OH area
Posts: 18
Here is what I believe happened: the original call was a net violation on Hawaii by the R2. The coach challenged that and the call was changed to a net violation on LB (the back row setter hit the net with his arm on the way down).
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 12, 2022, 08:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,743
Quote:
Originally Posted by justaref61 View Post
Here is what I believe happened: the original call was a net violation on Hawaii by the R2. The coach challenged that and the call was changed to a net violation on LB (the back row setter hit the net with his arm on the way down).
Agreed. The net was hit with the left arm as the setter spun around during his landing.

Thanks for sharing the clip
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 13, 2022, 05:48am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,433
You guys figured it out much more quickly than I did. I was settling into a hotel room and only half paying attention. I missed the R2's original call, so when they went to replay, I thought they were reviewing whether the ball was above the height of the net on the back row block. That really confused me, because that's not reviewable.

Interesting sequence, though.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Men's NCAA National Championship Videos JRutledge Basketball 15 Wed Apr 21, 2021 11:00pm
NCAA Championship IRISHMAFIA Softball 24 Fri May 29, 2009 10:54pm
Watching the '82 NCAA Championship Game jdw3018 Basketball 4 Thu Feb 07, 2008 11:12pm
NCAA Championship Umpiring IRISHMAFIA Softball 16 Wed May 28, 2003 08:24pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:49pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1